Whipped Body Butter

A co-worker of mine recently introduced to me to a natural skin care site, indylee.com that has list of “ingredients to avoid” when it comes to skin care products. In our household we try our best to use natural products when possible but hey – we are only human!

At first I just glanced at the list and left it at that, but then I ran out of the lotion I’ve been using for years andI thought I would cross reference the ingredients on the back with the “ingredients to avoid list“. Low and behold, my lotion was filled with many of the ingredients listed on the “to avoid” list 😦

To be honest I can’t say I was surprised, I’ve used this lotion for the majority of my life and always assumed that it was ok! I will say that I was disappointed, BUT I also felt  determined to find myself a natural alternative.

A favourite blog of mine, Wellness Mama, has a recipe for Whipped Body Butter, and I’ve wanted to try it. I made Katie’s  lotion bars with some friends last year and they turned out great! So I decided to give it a whirl!

photo 1 (2)

I used 1/2 cup of coconut oil, 1/2 cup of shea butter.1/2 cup of cocoa butter, and 1/2 cup of sweet almond oil. I didn’t add any essential oils because I personally love the smell of cocoa butter and shea butter.

photo 2 (1)

I don’t have a double boiler, so I combined everything in a mason jar. It does the trick just fine.

photo 3 (1)

Once melted and cooled, Katie says to cool for approximately another hour in the fridge. I decided to put it in the freezer instead (probably could have put it outside with how cold it is right now too) and this just sped up the timing for it to Harden. I had it in the freezer for minutes and it was good to go. It’s similar to a butter consistency that you are looking for 🙂

photo 4

I scooped it into my kitchen-aid and whipped it for about 15 minutes on medium speed

photo

This was my finished product all jarred up! It made quite a bit but I would probably double the recipe next time. We are enjoying it! It does take some getting used to because it is oil based but feels so nice on your skin, and it does an excellent job of hydrating. My skin just loves it! I will definitely be making this again

Leave a Reply

