Pizza, Pizza, Pizza!

Tonight we made pizza for dinner! My husband and I are in the process of  planning a trip to Italy, and tonight we are booking the hotel for our first nights in Rome and wanted to honour the occasion with an italian inspired dinner and italian wine!

So we made our favourite Hot Italian homemade pizza and tried a new one, Garlicky Kale and Bacon Pizza.  Deeeelicious!!! I absolutely love Kale – hands down my favourite vegetable. So you can only imagine my excitement when I discovered a pizza recipe that put the spot light on Kale 🙂 .  As for the Hot Italian Pizza, it was passed on to me years ago along with my pizza dough recipe by a friend and both these recipes are flawless.

Pizza Crust

3/4 Cup warm water
1 Tbsp Active Dry Yeast
1 Tsp Sugar
1 1/2 Cups Flour
1/4 Tsp Salt
1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Mix warm water, yeast and sugar together, then in a separate bowl stir together flour salt add yeast mixture and olive oil. Combine and knead briefly in bowl.

Image 3

I use quick yeast, organic sugar and unbleached flour.

Image 4

Once kneaded a bit, I placed the dough on an oiled plate ( to prevent sticking) and covered while I prepared my pizza toppings. This is tends to be long enough for it to rise sufficiently.

Image 5

Hot Italian Pizza

One small red onion thinly sliced
Three Chorizo sausages (cut the casings off)
Mushrooms
Asiago or Parmesan

1. Cook sausages over medium high heat ( it will look like ground meat),  remove with slotted spoon
2. Add onion and cook in the sausage oil and remove from pan
3. Add more oil ( a bit of olive oil if needed), add mushrooms
4. 3/4 tsp rosemary and Salt & Pepper (to get rid of moisture)

5. Roll out pizza dough, sprinkle with grated cheese
6. 3/4 tsp rosemary
7. Pinch of crushed chilli flakes and course salt press all firmly into dough
8. On crust put onion then sausage then mushroom then cheese on top
For the Kale Pizza I tried Kelly’s Garlicky Kale and Bacon Pizza, I will definitely be making this one again! The only thing I added was a a couple of pinches of chilli flakes in with the kale and a sprinkle of parmesan on top before it went in the oven.

Image 7 Image 6

We have a pizza stone, so we cooked each or these for about 12 minutes all together rotating the stone about half way through. If you don’t have a pizza stone you would want to preheat your oven to 425F and bake for about 20 minutes depending on your oven.

If you try these,  I hope you enjoy them as much as we did! Now on to the drinking wine and hotel booking portion of our evening 🙂

Leave a Reply

